What it feels like to plan an adventure

Last Thursday evening I finally sat myself down and booked the flight for the first leg of my upcoming adventure. In just under a month I will be leaving South Korea and my dear friends behind. Seoul has been my home for five inconsecutive years. It was quite the tumultuous event for me.

Messages were sent to a few friends: “Am I throwing away my money by going on these adventures? I should be sensible and just go home, renew my passport, then join my brother in Costa Rica while I decompress and figure out my next step in life. But then I would regret not traveling while I have the time now. How do I know if I’ll have this opportunity later?” Self-doubt was beginning to set in.

If I skip this adventure and go directly home, I wouldn’t see Morocco, visit a best friend in Istanbul where we will explore her current home along with Cappadocia, possibly visit a friend in Germany, or maybe see Croatia. The last two are currently up in the air. There is the possibility of saving Croatia as its own adventure. I’ve heard many wonderful stories about Croatia.

My friends provided constructive advice. I could save at least half of what I will receive when I leave Korea. That savings could be the cushion for my transition period in Costa Rica. I’ll be teaching english, not sure how many hours a week, and I could teach some yoga classes since I’m now a certified instructor. Thanks to my friends, the surge of anxiety began to subside.

Exploring the world is one of my passions, one of my dreams. When you think about it, living and experiencing a dream is priceless. How many people have the courage to leave a comfortable and conventional lifestyle for the unknown? This is my life and I’m the one living it. Yes, sacrifices have been made, and a couple of them of them have been heartbreaking, but I have become stronger and learned so much about myself. Although at times it sure doesn’t feel like it. Going on these adventures, especially when traveling solo, makes one resilient. When unfortunate events happen, you have to pick yourself up, wipe away the dirt and tears, and keep going.

 

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the things you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”

2017-02-20-21.35.47.jpg.jpg

The AJ Hacket 134m Nevis Highwire Bungy in Queenstown, New Zealand. This was taken in April 2014.

One thought on “What it feels like to plan an adventure

Leave a Reply

